COMPARE · INSURANCE

Insurance, HSA/FSA and cash-pay compared

Last checked:

Quick answer

None of the 9 telehealth companies we've broken down publishes that it bills health insurance. Collective says it doesn't bill insurance but its medication and membership may qualify for HSA/FSA; DudeMeds, SHED and MEDGm say HSA/FSA may be used but don't say whether they bill insurance; Embody, Strut Health, Happy Head, RxSpan MD and HealthRX don't publish either.

At a glance

CompanyInsurance and HSA/FSA
Embody
Not published
Not published. Its homepage says “No insurance barriers” but doesn't say whether it bills insurance.
Strut Health
Not published
Not published. Its homepage doesn't say whether it accepts insurance or HSA/FSA.
DudeMeds
HSA/FSA; insurance not stated
HSA/FSA eligible, per DudeMeds, with an insurance FAQ. Whether it bills insurance isn't stated on its homepage.
Happy Head
Not published
Not published. Its homepage doesn't say whether it accepts insurance or HSA/FSA.
SHED
HSA/FSA; insurance not stated
FSA/HSA eligible, per SHED. Insurance billing isn't published on the pages we reviewed.
RxSpan MD
Not published
Not published. Its homepage doesn't say whether it accepts insurance or HSA/FSA.
HealthRX
Not published
Not published. Its homepage doesn't say whether it accepts insurance or HSA/FSA.
MEDGm
HSA/FSA; insurance not stated
HSA/FSA may be possible, per MEDGm. Insurance billing isn't published on the pages we reviewed.
Collective
Cash-pay, HSA/FSA
Doesn't bill insurance (self-pay). Medication and membership may qualify for HSA/FSA reimbursement.

Bills insurance

Bills health insurance

The company submits claims to your health plan for visits or medication.

Who it suits: People whose plan covers the treatment.

Tradeoffs:

  • Prior authorization and denials can delay treatment.
  • Coverage can change when your plan changes.

Companies: None of the companies we've broken down.

Cash-pay, HSA/FSA

Cash-pay, HSA/FSA may apply

You pay directly; no insurance claims. Some costs may be reimbursable from an HSA or FSA, which your plan administrator decides.

Who it suits: People without coverage for the drug, or who want a fixed price without prior authorizations.

Tradeoffs:

  • You pay the full listed price.
  • HSA/FSA eligibility is decided by your plan administrator, not the company.

Companies: Collective

HSA/FSA; insurance not stated

HSA/FSA mentioned, insurance billing not stated

These companies say HSA/FSA may be used but don't publish whether they bill insurance.

Companies: DudeMeds, SHED, MEDGm

Frequently asked questions

Do telehealth GLP-1 companies take insurance?

Of the 9 companies we've broken down, none publishes that it bills insurance. Collective says outright that it doesn't. Checked Oct 16, 2026.

Can I use my HSA or FSA for telehealth weight-loss medication?

Collective, DudeMeds, SHED and MEDGm say HSA/FSA may be used. Your plan administrator makes the final reimbursement decision.

Does Collective take insurance?

No. Collective says it doesn't bill insurance; its medication and $199 annual membership may qualify for HSA/FSA reimbursement.

Sources

Facts are what each company published when we checked (Oct 16, 2026) and can change. This page compares published terms; it is not a rating. More comparisons: Pricing models · Medication types · Refund policies · Insurance & HSA/FSA · States served · Prescribers · Regulatory history. Full facts in each breakdown.